Southwest New Mexico Council of Governments

Southwest New Mexico Congressional 

and State Legislative Delegation

New Mexico 112th Congressional Delegation

Senator Tom Udall (D-NM)

Twitter: @tomudall

DC Address: 

The Honorable Tom Udall

United States Senate

531 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20510

DC Phone: (202) 224-6621

DC Fax: (202) 228-3261

Las Cruces Office:

201 North Church Street

Suite 201B

Las Cruces, NM 88001

Phone: (575) 526-5475

Fax: (575) 523-6589

Senator Martin Heinrich (D-NM)

DC Address: 

The Honorable Martin Heinrich

United States Senate

303 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515

DC Phone: (202) 224-5521

DC Fax: (202) 228-2841

Las Cruces Office:

Loretto Town Center

505 S. Main St.

Suite 148

Las Cruces, NM 88001

Phone: (575) 523-6561

Fax: (575) 523-6584

Representative Xochitl Torres Small (R-02)

Twitter @reptorressmall

DC Address: 

The Honorable Xochitl Torres Small

United States House of Representatives

430 Cannon HOB

Washington, D.C. 20515

DC Phone: (202) 225-2365

DC Fax: (202) 225-9599

Las Cruces Office:

240 S. Water Street

Las Cruces, NM 88001

Phone: (575) 323-6384

State Legislative Delegation

Senator John Arthur Smith (D)

[email protected]

District 35

Dona Ana, Hidalgo, Luna, and Sierra counties

P.O. Box 989

Deming, NM 88031

Office Phone: (575) 546-4979

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4365

Senator Gabriel Ramos (D)

[email protected]

District 28

Catron, Grant, and Socorro counties

502 Silver Heights

Silver City, NM 88061

Office Phone: (575) 388-1969

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4863

Representative Rebecca Dow (R)

[email protected]

District 38

Grant, Hidalgo, and Sierra counties

806 Sierra Vista

Truth or Consequences, NM 87901

Office Phone: (575) 571-1056

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4453

Representative Candie B. Sweetser (D)

[email protected]

District 32

Grant, Hidalgo, and Luna counties

10520 Hermanas Rd SW

Deming, NM 88030

Office Phone: (575) 546-9011

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4255

Representative Gail Armstrong (R)

[email protected]

District 49

Catron, Socorro, and Valencia counties

P.O. Box 326

Magdalena, NM 87825

Home Phone: (505) 269-2364

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4467

Representative Rodolpho "Rudy" Martinez (D)

[email protected]

District 39

Dona Ana, Grant, and Sierra counties

P.O. Box 164

Bayard, NM 88023

Home Phone: (575) 534-7546

Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4248

Infrastructure Capital Improvement Plan

What is ICIP?

An Infrastructure Capital Improvement Plan (ICIP)  is a state-coordinated process that encourages governmental entities to plan for capital improvement projects over a five-year period and requires public input. This process was established help entities to develop infrastructure that would allow for planning, funding, and implementing the plan at a pace that can be sustained rather than ending in emergency situations.

What is the Process for ICIP?

Typically, local governments will place the ICIP on meeting agendas during summer months and invite the public for  input. During the planning process, the entity reviews its existing plans, inventory, and notes that may need changes or updates. Following the public input process, the entity will prioritize its projects and determine those that are among the top five priorities for the coming year. Upon completion of the ICIP, the  entity will pass a resolution approving the plan and submit it to the New Mexico Department of Finance & Administration, Local Government Division.

What is the SWNMCOG's Role in ICIP?

SWNMCOG provides assistance to all members with the development of ICIP by sponsoring an annual ICIP training session, offering planning assistance, and other technical assistance by helping guide local governments to establish the top five ICIP priorities in accordance to their legislative priorities. SWNMCOG is available to present information about the overall planning process at the required public input meetings.

Contact the SWNMCOG for any questions about ICIP at (575) 956-1293.

Capital Outlay Process

1. Local Government ICIP Submission

2. Legislative Finance Committee Hearing 

3. Executive Capital Outlay Recommendations

4. Legislative Session

5. Capital Outlay Bill Review/EO 2016-006

6.‚Äč Governor Bill Signing Period

7. State Board of Finance Certification/Bond Sale 

8. Capital Projects Monitoring System (CPMS) 

9. SHARE Budget 

10. Grant Agreement