Southwest New Mexico Council of Governments


The SWNMCOG is responsible for maintaining a current Comprehensive Economic Development Strategies known as the CEDS. The CEDS is a locally-based, regionally-driven economic development planning process and document that creates space for the region to identify its strengths and weaknesses by bringing together a diverse set of partners to generate good jobs, diversify the economy, and spur economic growth. This process engages a range of partners, including: community leaders and residents, the private sector, educational institutions, and other stakeholders in planning for the region’s future.

The CEDS allows a region to maximize its economic development potential, as well as engage with the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) and other federal partners to receive infrastructure and technical assistance grants. The CEDS is a prerequisite for the SWNMCOG to have a federal designation as an economic development district and must be updated at least every five years. Overall, an effective CEDS planning process identifies strategies that will guide regional economic development, encourage partnerships and collaboration, and improve economic outcomes and the overall quality of life in the region.

The CEDS has regional demographic information, goals and strategies, resiliency, and aligns with the New Mexico statewide CEDS through eight common industry sectors. These sectors include:

  • Agriculture and Local Foods
  • Arts, Film, and Entertainment
  • Energy
  • Health and Social Services
  • Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation
  • Manufacturing and Logistics
  • Natural Resources and Mining
  • Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Contact Emily Gojkovich at (575) 956-1294 or at [email protected] with any question or comments about the 2020-2025 CEDS.